Menu
Back

Mathematics

Key Stage 3

In Year 7 and Year 8 you will be learning through Maths Mastery. It is a programme which teaches students through concrete, pictorial and abstract representations. This enables students to use manipulatives to help them learn, then be able to visualise and apply what they have learned to more abstract problems. 

 

In Year 9 you will build upon what you have learned so far in Key Stage 3 and develop fluency, the ability to reason and to apply mathematical knowledge to problem solving.

 

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4 the exam board is Edexcel.

 

The key skills which underpin the study of maths at Key Stage 4 are to develop fluency, the ability to reason and to apply mathematical knowledge to problem solving. You will be studying the following topics: Number, Algebra, Ratio, Proportion & Rates of Change, Geometry & Measures, Probability and Statistics. 

 

The assessment structure is 100% exam. There are three exams, equally weighted, each paper is 1 hour and 30 minutes long. There is one non-calculator paper and two calculator papers.

 

Key Stage 5

In Key Stage 5 the exam board is Edexcel.

 

The key skills which underpin the study of maths at Key Stage 5 are to develop fluency, the ability to reason and to apply mathematical knowledge to problem solving.

 

The assessment structure is 100% exam. There are three exams, equally weighted, each 2 hours with calculators allowed.

 

Mathematics: 

 

Modules

Content 

Pure Mathematics 1

Quadratics, inequalities, graphs & transformations, circles, polynomial division, proof, binomial expansion, trigonometric identities and equations, vectors, differentiation, integration, exponentials & logarithms

Pure Mathematics 2

Proof, partial fractions, sequences & series, binomial expansion, radians, trigonometric functions, parametric equations, differentiation, integration, numerical methods and vectors

Statistics and Mechanics

Measures of location and spread, representations of data, regression & correlation, conditional probability, statistical distributions, hypothesis testing, normal distribution, forces and motion, variable acceleration, moments, projectiles and applications of forces

 


 

Further Mathematics:

 

Modules

Content 

Core Pure 1

Complex numbers & argand diagrams, series, roots of polynomials, volumes of revolution, matrices & linear transformations, proof by induction and vectors

Core Pure 2

Complex numbers, series, methods in calculus, volumes of revolution, polar coordinates, hyperbolic functions and second order differential equations

Further Statistics 1

Discrete random variables, poisson distributions, geometric and negative binomial distributions, hypothesis testing, central limit theorem, chi-squared tests, probability generating functions, quality of tests.

Further Mechanics 1

Momentum & impulse, work energy & power, elastic strings, elastic collisions in one dimension and elastic collisions in two dimensions

 

Staff Contacts

Name Role Email
Mrs N Anssari Director of Faculty nanssari@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr D Cove Deputy Director of Faculty KS5 dcove@tla.woodard.co.uk
Ms J Cutts Deputy Director of Faculty KS4 jcutts@tla.woodard.co.uk
Ms D Searle Deputy Director of Faculty KS3 dsearle@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr R Budd Teacher rbudd@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr D Jack Assistant Principal / Teacher djack@tla.woodard.co.uk
Ms R King Teacher rking@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr D Magee Teacher dmagee@tla.woodard.co.uk
Ms M McLean Teacher mmclean@tla.woodard.co.uk
Ms G Mitchell Teacher gmitchell@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr C Ruiz Teacher cruiz@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr P Roberts Teacher proberts@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr R Roque Teacher rroque@tla.woodard.co.uk
Mr G Barnes Intervention Teacher gbarnes@tla.woodard.co.uk
Ms S McGlennon Maths HLTA smcglennon@tla.woodard.co.uk
     

 

Useful Links

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×